8 Public Square North

Murfreesboro, Tennessee 37130


Felony Charges

First and Foremost you NEED A LAWYER if you have been charged with a felony crime. No matter what crime you have been charged with you need to contact a lawyer immediately. Especially if you have been contacted by the Police asking you for an interview. That is when you need to talk to a lawyer right away.

Tennessee classifies Felony Charges between A, B, C, D, and E. Each of these charges carries a specific range of punishment. For instance, First Degree Murder is a Class A Felony and can be punished from up to 12 years to life imprisonment. Possession of Marijuana between 1/2 ounce and 10 pounds is a Class E Felony making it the bottom of the felony ranges. Class E Felonies can range from 1 to 2 years imprisonment and certain statutory fines.

In addition to hefty fines and the possibility of incarceration, you will lose your right to vote if convicted of a Felony in the State of Tennessee. Other penalties are that you will not be allowed to own or possess a firearm. Further, you will be ordered to provide a DNA sample for analysis.

As with Misdemeanor charges, all felony charges are factually specific and need to be reviewed by an experienced attorney before you make your first appearance in court. Discuss the nature of the charges against you and the possible defenses you may have against those charges with Mr. Howard before you go to court. Call today for your Free Consultation.

Class A Felony

After crimes punishable by death or life imprisonment, class A felonies are the most serious felonies in Tennessee. They are punishable by 15 to 60 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000. (Tenn. Ann. Code § 40-35-111.)

For example, aggravated rape (rape that causes injury to the victim, or against a child under the age of 13, or where the defendant is armed with a weapon or aided by others) is a class A felony. (For more information on sex crimes in Tennessee and their penalties, see Tennessee Sexual Battery Laws.)

Class B Felony

In Tennessee, a class B felony is punishable by eight to 30 years’ imprisonment, as well as a fine of up to $25,000. (Tenn. Ann. Code § 40-35-111.)

Causing or allowing a child to engage in sexual acts for the purpose of making child pornography is an example of a class B felony. (For more information on this crime, see Child Enticement Laws in Tennessee.)

Class C Felony

People convicted of class class C felonies can be sentenced to prison terms of three to 15 years, as well as fines of up to $10,000. (Tenn. Ann. Code § 40-35-111.)

Aggravated assault (intentionally causing serious injury to another) is a class C felony in Tennessee. (For more information on assault penalties, see Tennessee Aggravated Assault Laws.)

Class D Felony

A class D felony is punishable by two to 12 years’ imprisonment and a fine of up to $5,000. (Tenn. Ann. Code § 40-35-111.)

Possession of between ten and 70 pounds of marijuana is a class D felony in Tennessee. For more information on marijuana possession offenses, see Tennessee Marijuana Laws.

Class E Felony

Class E felonies, the least serious felonies in Tennessee, are punishable by one to six years in prison, as well as a fine of up to $3,000. (Tenn. Ann. Code § 40-35-111.)

Theft of property worth more than $500 but less than $1,000 is a class E felony. (For more information on theft penalties, see Tennessee Petty Theft and Other Theft Laws.)

Schedule a consultation today
8 Public Square North
Murfreesboro, Tennessee 37130